it was raining pretty hard earlier (i'm not sure if it still is or not). the rain always relaxes me, i just feel like sitting around and drinking coffee. so i am, i'm just settling into my evening brew. ya its 7:30 pm and no its not decaf...thats how roll. coffee, my computar, and damien rice, at this exact moment i am listening to his sone 'lonelily'. its pretty good. when i bought the album its on ('b-sides') i was in dublin, Ireland (not really going anywhere with that one...more just to say i've been to dublin).
i'm reading a book right now called 'old testament times' by R.K. Harrison. it was one of my dad's old text books. its really interesting. it puts the old testament in the historical context of ancient Mesopotamia. it really explains a lot. and it fits in with my desired field of study (hopefully). i'm reading about hte patriarchal period of the jewish nation. Harrison is exploring the laws and customs of the area and illustrating how these had an affect of the actions of Abraham and his family. i'm sure it would bore some people to death to have to read this. and the fact that i am reading it for pleasure is most likely confusing to people, but thats the kind of book i like (that or LOTR or Harry Potter).
but thats what i want to study, history. i want to teach it, actually, on a university or college level. i know i've got a lot of school ahead of me but i'm excited. right after high school i wanted to go into english, but as you can tell by the amount of commas i've used so far i wouldn't have gotten very far. in fact i took an english class at WCC (i can't remember if it was my senior year in HS or if it was after i graduated) and i got B's on every paper with notes saying something like 'if your punctuation was better you'd have an A'. i've never been good at punctuation, but always had incredibly strong voice in my writing (thats weird). i have a hard time writing 'objective' papers (or did when i was in school).
i was listening to a sermon on the radio this morning at work. and the guy (i can't remember who it was) was talking about following the will of God. and how in each season of our life there is something to be done. even if its a preparing season, the will of God for our life at that point is preparing.
(for those of you who care, i just switched music to Ray LaMontaigne's albun 'till the sun turns black. you know, just trying to make you feel like you're sitting here with me).
back to the will of God. hannah and i just got married, and we're settling into married life. right now i am working and she is in her last year of school. and thats fine. but trying to figure out whats next is...well its kinda scary. its weird (at least for me, i don't know about hannah) thinking about hannah being done with school. i don't know why. i guess our whole relationship she has been in school and having her move into a full time working position is interesting to think about. on one hand she could be gone more during the day. but at the same time, no more homework (for her).
me going back to school is going to be good, but take some getting used to. for a few years now i've worked during the day, but left work at work. and school will be coming home with me everyday. the other part of that is i've always worked and had money. and transitioning into a time of hannah being the only one who makes money, or the one who makes more money (but lets face it, she's a nurse and i want to be a teacher...she'll always make more money) is kinda hard. not that i am opposed to her supporting me financially through school, its just going to take some getting used to.
i think im done with that topic for now.
this past weekend, hannah's old roomates came down from TWU for dinner. they went out to dessert afterwards. Ashley brought her boyfriend Brian. he and i went to Archer's Ale House in Fairhaven (highly recomended) while they were at dessert. we got 'liter-steins' (40 oz. or so) and as part of octoberfest, they had a special where you could buy the glass for another 3 bucks. i mention this cause i am having a big mug of ice water in my liter-stein. its so huge. but we took our time (don't worry mom) and didn't get drunk...just buzzed.
sorry this post was so long, and if you made it to the end- i commend you, and am sorry that you were so bored you had to read my whole post. but have a good night, or morning (i guess havea good time would in kinda blanket whenever you happen to be reading this)
until next time, peace
-C
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
I'm commenting for three reasons...
1. Where the heckfire have you been all my life? It's been way too long my friend. Email me and fill me in on life. chrismknox@gmail.com
2. I wanted to be the first person to comment on your blog.
3. You comment on my blog, I comment on yours. It's just good etiquette.
Blessings, my friend.
Hello my friend....
This is Rachel's husband Chad. Rachel does our blog, but she showed me yours and I am impressed. I like the whole just writing your thoughts idea. I might have to do that myself.
By the way. about hannah not being in school and you going back,,,, ( you seem like the type of guy to where I can say this) God has a hand in all the things that we do, He has helped you out before,, so why worry now. just remember him, do your best, and things will all wash out in the end....
Take luck
Chad
Post a Comment