Sunday, March 2, 2008

untitled

Hannah is working a night shift up at Peace Arch Hospital tonight. i sent her a 'good night' txt msg like 1/2 hour ago, but couldn't sleep so now here i sit...mumble typing.

as you can read below, i finally have a hobby...beer (ok so beer has been a hobby of mine for quite a while but that was mostly the consumption...i think i can't remember a lot of it).
my first brew (the recipe was called 'london ale' and it wasn't too bad). i wanted to brew again but wasa little tight on the cash so my dad bought the ingredients and we split it about 50/50. i brewed IPA. and it is absolutely amazing! i'm thinking about doing a dry stout this weekend, you St. Patrick's day and all that (i don't think it'll be ready...but hell at least i can say i tried).
Hannah commented this week that my blog started out spiritual...and now i just talk about beer...
i was over at my folks place tonight for kristen's birthday bash (now in its 3rd or 4th week i think). and we were talking about how such a lame blogger i am. well the truth is i've been incredibly busy lately. hannah and i are looking to move back to bellingham. so my computar time is usually tied up on craigslist.

i'm really tired, and i don't think that any of this made sense, or was entertaing but whatever, i blogged, and i'll do it again soon...geologically speaking (bad joke, not even worth explaining). actually i should next week, we are looking at a house tomorrow, its across the street from lake whatcom with beach and a dock...so i'll let you know if we get it or not.
peace
c

Sunday, January 13, 2008

happy homebrew!

its done (well for now). i brewed my first batch of beer on Sunday! it took a little longer than i had expected, but a little cleaner than i had expected too! it was really interesting to see and do all the steps involved in brewing beer. i tasted a little before the yeast was added, and it tastes like really sweet flat beer! i can't wait for the finished product. here are some pics that chronicle my sunday:





so now the beer is sitting in my living room fermenting. its close to being done (i think). tomorrow i'm going to transfer it into as smaller carboy which will take it off of the yeast bed and let it finish fermenting. i'll probably bottle on monday or tuesday...but there really isn' t a set amount of time, i'll bottle when its done. and hopefully it'll be ready to drink by superbowl sunday (fingers crossed)

Sunday, January 6, 2008

Beer for the New Year

as you may (or may not) already know, for christmas hannah bought me a gift card to North Corner Brew Supply. Bellingham's homebrew supply shop. starting to brew my own beer is something i've wanted to do for a while now. so next weekend i am going to start my first batch. i still haven't decided what to brew, something simple (as its my first time) but something good too. so we'll see. it'd be cool to have a batch ready forthe superbowl...but we'll see. the guy down at north corner gave a one of their in house recipes, its a London Ale, it looks simple enough, but i found a brown ale recipe in the book hannah got me, so i might that instead...we'll see.
but check back next week, as i'll keep ya updated.
peace
caleb

Monday, December 3, 2007

i'm the lamest blogger in the world

i have to be the lamest blogger in the world. i ma truly sorry. especially to Rachel and http://www.blogger.com/img/gl.link.gifChad. they put my blog on their side column, and i haven't written in like two months...i am the lamest blogger in the world.

about a month ago i was having coffee with my good friend Kevin the deputy (actually he a sergeant in the sheriff's department, but kevin the sergeant just doesn't sound as good). he told me about the video he cam across on youtube. its of the audition for the show 'Britain's got talent'. its produce by Simon Cowel. kind of american idolish, but its not just a singing competition. the man auditioning is a guy named Paul Potts. he is a short, shy, round brittish guy with bad teeth (go figure {sorry Jonny}). he works at a car phone warehouse, and struggles with self esteem. this video just goes to show that whatever we look like, whatever we think about ourselves or others think about us, God has given us all gifts , and his is nothing but a God send.
Check it out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1k08yxu57NA

i mean come on...this guy is freakin' awesome! he goes on to win the competition, and his cd is out right now, we bought for Steve's birthday (hannah's step dad) and it is amazing. its at costco (well i'm sure you could find it a lot of places) anyways go and buy it! hannah thinks he the cutest thing in the world and wants to adopt him...but then i remind her hes like 35 or something and married.
i do have morei want to write, but i need to go to bed, so until next time...Peace
-caleb

Tuesday, October 16, 2007

i'm bored, so this one is kinda long

it was raining pretty hard earlier (i'm not sure if it still is or not). the rain always relaxes me, i just feel like sitting around and drinking coffee. so i am, i'm just settling into my evening brew. ya its 7:30 pm and no its not decaf...thats how roll. coffee, my computar, and damien rice, at this exact moment i am listening to his sone 'lonelily'. its pretty good. when i bought the album its on ('b-sides') i was in dublin, Ireland (not really going anywhere with that one...more just to say i've been to dublin).
i'm reading a book right now called 'old testament times' by R.K. Harrison. it was one of my dad's old text books. its really interesting. it puts the old testament in the historical context of ancient Mesopotamia. it really explains a lot. and it fits in with my desired field of study (hopefully). i'm reading about hte patriarchal period of the jewish nation. Harrison is exploring the laws and customs of the area and illustrating how these had an affect of the actions of Abraham and his family. i'm sure it would bore some people to death to have to read this. and the fact that i am reading it for pleasure is most likely confusing to people, but thats the kind of book i like (that or LOTR or Harry Potter).
but thats what i want to study, history. i want to teach it, actually, on a university or college level. i know i've got a lot of school ahead of me but i'm excited. right after high school i wanted to go into english, but as you can tell by the amount of commas i've used so far i wouldn't have gotten very far. in fact i took an english class at WCC (i can't remember if it was my senior year in HS or if it was after i graduated) and i got B's on every paper with notes saying something like 'if your punctuation was better you'd have an A'. i've never been good at punctuation, but always had incredibly strong voice in my writing (thats weird). i have a hard time writing 'objective' papers (or did when i was in school).
i was listening to a sermon on the radio this morning at work. and the guy (i can't remember who it was) was talking about following the will of God. and how in each season of our life there is something to be done. even if its a preparing season, the will of God for our life at that point is preparing.
(for those of you who care, i just switched music to Ray LaMontaigne's albun 'till the sun turns black. you know, just trying to make you feel like you're sitting here with me).
back to the will of God. hannah and i just got married, and we're settling into married life. right now i am working and she is in her last year of school. and thats fine. but trying to figure out whats next is...well its kinda scary. its weird (at least for me, i don't know about hannah) thinking about hannah being done with school. i don't know why. i guess our whole relationship she has been in school and having her move into a full time working position is interesting to think about. on one hand she could be gone more during the day. but at the same time, no more homework (for her).
me going back to school is going to be good, but take some getting used to. for a few years now i've worked during the day, but left work at work. and school will be coming home with me everyday. the other part of that is i've always worked and had money. and transitioning into a time of hannah being the only one who makes money, or the one who makes more money (but lets face it, she's a nurse and i want to be a teacher...she'll always make more money) is kinda hard. not that i am opposed to her supporting me financially through school, its just going to take some getting used to.

i think im done with that topic for now.
this past weekend, hannah's old roomates came down from TWU for dinner. they went out to dessert afterwards. Ashley brought her boyfriend Brian. he and i went to Archer's Ale House in Fairhaven (highly recomended) while they were at dessert. we got 'liter-steins' (40 oz. or so) and as part of octoberfest, they had a special where you could buy the glass for another 3 bucks. i mention this cause i am having a big mug of ice water in my liter-stein. its so huge. but we took our time (don't worry mom) and didn't get drunk...just buzzed.
sorry this post was so long, and if you made it to the end- i commend you, and am sorry that you were so bored you had to read my whole post. but have a good night, or morning (i guess havea good time would in kinda blanket whenever you happen to be reading this)
until next time, peace
-C

Wednesday, October 3, 2007

new blog

so this is the new blog. it'll probably be a while before anyone reads this, but thats alright.
Hannah is at a meeting for mosaic, and i am sitting at the woods @ boulevard park. its pretty nice in here.

so, if you don't know i drive a truck now for a company called Northwest Health Care Linen. one of my deliveries is to 'planned parenthood' on state street. it's interesting. i don't feel uncomfortable there, i mean, i know they do abortions. but they provide lots of other services too. but thats not the point of bringing this up. whati wanted to talk about is a guy i've see there a lot lately. he is on the state street side (come to think of it, i don't think its state, it might be ellis) but on the busy side anyways. he is on his knees facing the building (which is windowless) and praying. i always wonder what he is praying for. it could be comfort for the girls who are having the hardest time of their lives. it could be for the aborted babies, i don't know. last week there was a cop there talking to him, but he was back today.
i guess the point is that he is praying (it could be worse, he could havea gun or a bomb and kill a bunch of ppl, that would be terrible).
i don't know what you would call me, i'm deffinately pro life, i'm not pro choice, but i'm not violently against the women i see weekly. i know that every life is precious to God, and therefore should be to us as well. i think we need to get away from pro choice/ pro life and move toward pro love. there is the ever present fight of when "life" begins, and i can argue till i'm blue in the face that it begins at conception and you can argue till you are blue in the face that its not till heartbeat. hannah had a good point that until common ground can be found, no ground will be covered. we need to agree that no matter, it is the potential for life, and you can't really argue with that. don't get me wrong, i think that abortion is wrong, and very tragic.

i have more thoughts on the subject, but they are not coherant in my mind right now, i might come back to the topic later, we'll see.

last weekend was my grandparents 50th wedding anniversary, so hannah and i went to portland to attend the party. we stayed with my great friend danny while we were down there. it was a lot of fun. after the party we went out to dinner with the fam, and then out to a couple of bars with danny. first stop was this place called mother's. it was good. wee had some cocktails and dessert. then off to henry's (a great place if ever you are in the portland area, they have a beer list a mile long!) after that we met my family and some family friends who we haven't seen in years at this place called the Kennedy school. its a bar of sorts. this company, i belive its called McMinnimens (or somthing along those lines) is a micro brewery in the portland area. they buy old buildings and remodel. this place was an old elementary school. so there was a restaurant in the cafeteria, a couple of the classrooms had been turned into bars (so really there were 3 or 4 bars). there is a hotel and a smoking room and a movie theater that plays just out of cinema movies...pretty cool place.

but my alarm just went off meaning that i have to go and pick up hannah, so till next time
thanks for reading